Picture Bit

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 02, 2024, 05:19:27 am

Login with username, password and session length

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 32006
  • Total Topics: 3964
  • Online Today: 59
  • Online Ever: 235
  • (December 09, 2019, 06:27:14 pm)
Users Online
Users: 0
Guests: 43
Total: 43
43 Guests, 0 Users

Author Topic: Disc brake dilemna?  (Read 4591 times)

keen

• Journeyman
  • I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
Disc brake dilemna?
« on: August 06, 2003, 04:36:53 pm »
 I have been running Avid disc bakes w/ XTR levers for the past 6 months. Most of the riding has been fireroads, wide open downhill etc., worked fine.  I just started running singletrack and what I find is that I am over braking on the technical down hills. I can say this isn't a good technique to stop forward momentum- good for an endo. I know I should stay off the brakes but I have a hard time modulating them @ slow speeds. I am tempted to throw my V brakes back on but this seems like a step backwards. Any advice? I really like the Avids for fast downhill. Another thing to note is the XTR's may not be the best match for disc's? Thanx

Old Proflexer

• Guru
Re: Disc brake dilemna?
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2003, 02:05:27 am »

i was going to get a set of those and use them on my xtr setup (shifter/brake lever combos)

this may sound kinda screwy but can the throw on the arm be adjusted to decrease leverage (file into the arm or remount the cable)

or, perhaps remove the pads and maybe carve out say the center section of pad (vertically or horizontally) reducing surface area to the rotor.  

the xtr's should have an adjustable throw as well at the lever - pull the lever back slightly and you'll see where the cable end sits - that pocket can move back and for about 3/8" and is limited by an allen screw - i'd try adjusting the limit screw so you adjust the leverage ratio  -

just a few random thoughts -

OP