Picture Bit

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 10, 2024, 11:18:17 pm

Login with username, password and session length

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 32006
  • Total Topics: 3964
  • Online Today: 62
  • Online Ever: 235
  • (December 09, 2019, 06:27:14 pm)
Users Online
Users: 0
Guests: 34
Total: 34
34 Guests, 0 Users

Author Topic: Proflex 856 help  (Read 2859 times)

chabro

• Novice
  • I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
Proflex 856 help
« on: May 21, 2005, 01:47:50 pm »
I recently was given an 856 in excellent shape other than the shocks.  The front and rear shocks are missing spring and are leaking oil.  I am exploring options to fix the bike. Option 1: Rebuild the shocks and restore to oem. Is this worth it? Also I have no idea where to buy kits or springs for that matter.  Option 2: Upgrade shocks.  Problem is I have no idea what will fit.  I am completely new to this type shock. None of the shocks I have seen are threaded like the rear one and the front looks different also.  Option 3: Replace rear shock assuming I can find one that will fit and is in my price range and replace front vector fork with newer suspension fork.  Any replies would be really helpful.  This site rocks.  Thanks

shovelon

• Global Moderator
  • Guru
  • Down there? DOWN THERE!???
Re: Proflex 856 help
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2005, 05:00:15 pm »
Check out Will's and Frankd3000's galleries. Then Junkster and Simon.

Of course Callum at RDI has the ODI upgrades if you need them.

That will help make up your mind.

Terry
OzM,(Ozzie)
K24000,(Red)
957small,(Shorty)
957Large,(Monty)
956 LE,(Peirce)    <Sold>
Offroad "Proflex" (Serrota),
Serotta CST  titanium softail
McMahon FS

kiwi

• Guru
  • 756,wtb sstk,risse terminator, 97-carbon xlink,v's
« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2005, 05:43:26 pm »