Picture Bit

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
May 19, 2024, 12:43:23 pm

Login with username, password and session length

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 32006
  • Total Topics: 3964
  • Online Today: 13
  • Online Ever: 235
  • (December 09, 2019, 06:27:14 pm)
Users Online
Users: 0
Guests: 10
Total: 10
10 Guests, 0 Users

Author Topic: Oz fork question/poll  (Read 6051 times)

Dennis

• Global Moderator
  • Guru
    • phatphysics.com
Oz fork question/poll
« on: February 14, 2003, 11:24:21 pm »
Hi,
How many of you Oz owners have replaced your Xlink with a slider fork?
I think alot, so here's the question:
Is it better to put a 3" travel fork on the Oz, or is 4" acceptable? Does the 4" fork screw up the geometry much?
Here's the deal: I am doing alot of private tutoring right now (I'm a teacher) so I have some money for a really good fork that would be easy to mount my Avid discs on. The fork that I have researched to be the best is the Fox RLC air fork, but its a 4" fork, which would be really cool to have.
Please let me know  your opinions on this. thanks again.
K2 Oz - Blue Crush
Giant MCM Team carbon HT - Momentum
Peugeot PX 10E - 1969
Trek 930 (tourer) - Valkyrie
Calfee Luna Pro - photon
gallery- http://idriders.com/cgi-bin/album_k2.pl?album=Dennis

GET

• Journeyman
  • Where are the land bridges?
Re: Oz fork question/poll
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2003, 11:37:44 pm »
Go for the 4" fork.  The difference in geometry is minimal and perhaps even better.  The rear travel is more than 4" already.  The geometry difference when you change your rear shock might combine to change your geometry.  If you go with a longer fork and a shorter rear shock, then you will slacken the geometry (still not severely).  If you go with a longer fork and a longer rear shock, the effects will tend to cancel.  I'm probably telling you things you already know.