Picture Bit

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
September 29, 2024, 06:18:25 am

Login with username, password and session length

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 32006
  • Total Topics: 3964
  • Online Today: 18
  • Online Ever: 235
  • (December 09, 2019, 06:27:14 pm)
Users Online
Users: 0
Guests: 21
Total: 21
21 Guests, 0 Users

Author Topic: My first ProFlex; advice and suggestions?  (Read 4395 times)

Fizban

• Novice
  • Vince in Libertatem
My first ProFlex; advice and suggestions?
« on: May 06, 2008, 03:38:32 pm »
     Hello everyone!
     My name is Nick and I just came into ownership of my first Proflex. It's a ProFlex Newport I bought used (naturally) at a LBS for $223. It is all original and in great shape for its age, with new tires. The specs mostly seem to match up with this page:

http://www.bikepedia.com/QuickBike/BikeSpecs.aspx?Year=1994&Brand=ProFlex&Model=Newport&Type=bike

I commute by bike to school and work. I am a student on a budget, and was looking to get an cheap upgrade on my old Fuji Boulevard. I bought this bike knowing nothing of ProFlex, largely because of it's trigger-style shifters, cantilever brakes and looks.
I thought the real elastomer was cool when I bought it, but since then I've been researching and am ahving second thoughts. After learning about their tendency to degrade and difficulty to come by I feel a little uneasy...Although it appears to be in good shape for now. It has a Girvin Flexstem also, and the elastomer in it seems rock hard.
     I wanted a solid commuter, and bought this bike with the hope that it would need only little maintenance, but have found out since I bought it that perhaps it may need a new stem (if the elastomer is shot, I want a simpler, lighter stem) and elastomer (ordered from Scotland, no less), plus the tune-up it needs.