Picture Bit

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 09, 2024, 01:16:34 pm

Login with username, password and session length

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 32006
  • Total Topics: 3964
  • Online Today: 62
  • Online Ever: 235
  • (December 09, 2019, 06:27:14 pm)
Users Online
Users: 0
Guests: 60
Total: 60
60 Guests, 0 Users

Author Topic: Newbie here with some ?'s  (Read 3725 times)

88turboaccord

• Novice
  • I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
Newbie here with some ?'s
« on: April 22, 2003, 09:16:04 am »
I know "Search, search, search...

Well I just recently got back into riding again--been about 5 yrs.  I started with a proflex 454, broke that frame, then went to an 856--put a lot of money into it, it got stolen, so I dropped out.  I just bought an evo 3000 frame and pretty much just threw it together so I can ride again.  Well now it is time to start changing things.

First off, I want to change the Rear shock---suggestions?
Can the rear swing arm be changed to the carbon one?

The mods I am probobly going to do in the next month or two are:
Disc brake set-up (also new rims/hubs)
easton carbon seatpost
easton carbon handlebar
better shifters, probobly the xtr pods--Mine suck
new stem--dunno which one yet, but want a lighter one.
I am also going to change the crank, don't know what I should go with though.  I have been out of the loop for almost 5 yrs.  So everything I know is old and out of style.

I just ordered my clipless pedals-- so those should be in shortly.

anything else I should know about?

rapiddescent

• Master
  • what a ride
    • Rapid Descent Scotland
Re: Newbie here with some ?'s
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2003, 11:38:34 am »
cranks,stem,bars, rear shock -look fine.

in fact, the only thing I would change woulkd be the forks.  I'd change them for some long travel Marzocchis.  I am not a fan of the chubbies.  I put custom springs inside my old pair to make them better.