Picture Bit

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 12, 2024, 03:17:40 am

Login with username, password and session length

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 32006
  • Total Topics: 3964
  • Online Today: 27
  • Online Ever: 235
  • (December 09, 2019, 06:27:14 pm)
Users Online
Users: 0
Guests: 26
Total: 26
26 Guests, 0 Users

Author Topic: onepointfive forks  (Read 2930 times)

crazyaggie05

• Novice
  • I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
onepointfive forks
« on: September 22, 2004, 11:59:37 am »
hey guys, i gotta 01 disco monkey and im looking to replace that crappy noleen fork. ive been looking at the z150 or zr1, and also the sherman firefly and sherman breakout. i noticed the breakout has a 1.5 in steer tube? im guessing that wont fit on my bike right? or is there some kind of adapter or something i dunno about? im kinda new to alot of this stuff. waht do yall think is a good replacement?

Kevins19

• Apprentice
    • Online Portfolio
Re: onepointfive forks
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2004, 02:02:51 pm »
Yeah, you are correct the "onepointfive" 1.5" is the new heavy duty standard they are starting to come out with. Its is really only used on a few downhill and freeride type bikes. Cross country bikes don't really need the added strength. And a matter of fact i'm not sure downhillers / freeriders really need it either. If your bike had a 1.5" headtube you could get reducers that allow you to run a 1.125" standard fork. But you can't go the other way. Also not that the forks listed have a bit more travel and will effect your geometry... making the bike a little slacker in the steering separtment. Now, I run a boxxer on my EVO and it is pretty raked out. It took a bit to get used to, but I prefer my bike that way now.

Check out my gallery to see the angle of my front fork:

http://idriders.com/cgi-bin/album_k2.pl?album=Kevins19